Vols Dobbs Repeats As Manning Award Quarterback of The Week

KNOXVILLE, TN - NOVEMBER 19, 2016 - quarterback Josh Dobbs #11 of the Tennessee Volunteers during the game between the Missouri Tigers and the Tennessee Volunteers at Neyland Stadium in Knoxville, TN. Photo By Hayley Pennesi/Tennessee Athletics

NEW ORLEANS — Tennessee senior Joshua Dobbs has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week for the second-straight week. He is the first repeat winner of the season as he earns the win over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.
Dobbs, who was the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week for Week 11, was also named the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week and the Athlon SEC Offensive Player of the Week for Week 12. He accounted for five touchdowns and 413 total yards in the Vols’ 63-37 win over Missouri. Dobbs completed 15 of 22 passes for 223 yards and three touchdowns with no interceptions. He also ran for a career-high 190 yards and two touchdowns on 10 carries.
With five total touchdowns in the win, Dobbs now has 81 career touchdowns accounted for (passing, rushing, receiving), tying him with Casey Clausen for second-most in UT history. His 190 rushing yards in the win were the most ever by a Tennessee quarterback.
Dobbs now has 50 career touchdown passes and 29 career rushing touchdowns, making him just the fourth SEC quarterback to throw for 50 scores and rush for 25 in a career. He joins Tim Tebow, Johnny Manziel and Dak Prescott.
Dobbs has accounted for an SEC-high 34 touchdowns this season (24 passing, 9 rushing, one receiving). His 24 passing touchdowns lead the league.
In SEC games, Dobbs’ 306.0 yards per game is the top mark in the conference. His 22 offensive touchdowns in league play are also tops in the SEC.
Dobbs is on the Watch List for the Manning Award. The list of 10 finalists for the Manning Award will be released on Wednesday, Nov. 30. The winner will be announced on Wednesday, Jan. 11.
In its first 12 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 11 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference leads the way with four Manning Award winners (Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell, Tim Tebow), while Texas is the only school with two winners (Colt McCoy and Vince Young). Watson is the third winner from the Atlantic Coast Conference, joining Matt Ryan (Boston College, 2007) and Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013).
All of the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.
In addition to the Manning Award’s yearly honor, each week during the regular season, eight quarterbacks are recognized as Manning Quarterbacks of the Week. Fifty-five players from 52 different schools were honored during the 2015 season.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s