Burn ban violators could face jail time, $2,500 fine in Washington County, Va.

Courtesy: AP Graphics
Courtesy: AP Graphics

WASHINGTON COUNTY, VA (WJHL) – The Washington County, Va. Sheriff’s Office said Monday that anyone who violates the burn ban could face jail time, as well as a fine.

According to a WCVASO news release, individuals violating the ban will be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, which carries a punishment of up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.

Sheriff’s officials said no warnings will be given and violators will be charged.

Anyone who may know of someone violating the burn ban is asked to call 276-676-6277, option 7.

Copyright 2016 WJHL. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s