Bucs place 12 on SoCon All-Conference Teams

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (Nov. 8, 2016) – The ETSU men’s soccer team received 12 All-Conference honors including Coach of the Year, Goalkeeper of the Year, and Freshman of the Year, which was announced by the league offices Tuesday.

In his third year at the helm, head coach Bo Oshoniyi guided the Bucs to an 11-4-2 regular season record and their first-ever regular season title. The 2016 season was highlighted by an upset win at then No. 1 North Carolina along with posting a 7-1-2 conference record which included season sweeps over conference foes UNCG and Mercer. He currently totes a 26-21-7 head coaching record at ETSU.

The Bucs earned two other accolades including Goalkeeper of the Year and Freshman of the Year. Sophomore goalkeeper Jonny Sutherland (Chester, U.K.) won Goalkeeper of the Year. He finished his second season for the Blue and Gold with a 0.92 goals against average and a 0.778 save percentage. He was awarded SoCon Player of the Month for September and earned two SoCon Player of the Week honors as well as national honors this year. Freshman centreback Joe Pickering (East Sussex, England) earned Freshman of the Year after starting in all 17 games and missing just 41 minutes on the pitch all season. He finished with the fourth-most goals on the team (3) and scored the game-winning goal against UNCG at home.

ETSU claimed four All-Conference First Team honors: Fletcher Ekern (Knoxville, Tenn.), Serge Gomis (Dakar, Senegal), Chase Clack (Memhpis, Tenn.), and Sutherland. Ekern finished the regular season tied for first in the SoCon in goals scored (9) and game-winning goals (3). Ekern was named SoCon Player of the Month for October after recording eight goals including ETSU’s first-ever hat trick at UNCG. Gomis played in 14 games with 12 starts and recorded two goals and an assist in his first year at ETSU. He tallied a .444 shot on goal percentage and inked five points this season. Clack was the lone Buccaneer to start and play every minute this season (1610 minutes). He was an integral part of the defensive backline that posted eight shutouts this season. The Memphis native even scored his first collegiate goal, which was a game-winner against UNC-Asheville. He was placed on the College Soccer News Team of the Week for his goal performance against the Bulldogs and shutting out then No. 1 North Carolina.

The Blue and Gold also recorded three players on the Second Team All-Conference: Joao Ramalho (Monte Santo, Brazil), Charlie Machell (Newcastle, England), and Pickering. The 2014 SoCon Player of the Year, Ramalho, finished the season strong by recording three goals and three assists in the final five games. He led the Bucs to their first-ever regular season title when he scored the game-tying and game-winning goals at Mercer. For his two-goal performance, he was tabbed SoCon Player of the Week along with TopDrawerSoccer.com and College Soccer News Team of the Week. Machell touched the field in all 17 matches including 15 starts. He recorded two assists in back-to-back games with both assists leading to game-winning goals (vs. VMI and Wofford). As a transfer from Wingate, he has scored 25 career goals and recorded 11 career assists.

The Buccaneers placed a pair of freshman on the All-Freshman Team: Javier Alberto (Johnson City, Tenn.) and Pickering. Alberto was red-shirted last season and has been a valuable midfielder for the Bucs. He has played in 16 games and started in seven. He recorded a pair of goals and three assists this season. He tallied his first career point at High Point when he attempted a bicycle kick that was ultimately tapped in by a teammate. He recorded his first collegiate goal, which was the first go-ahead goal scored against George Mason.

Below is the full list of the of the 2016 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Teams.

Player of the Year – Will Bagrou, Jr., F, Mercer
Goalkeeper of the Year – Jonny Sutherland, So., ETSU
Coach of the Year – Bo Oshoniyi, ETSU
Freshman of the Year – Joe Pickering, D, ETSU

First Team
F Fletcher Ekern, ETSU
F Lewis Hawke, Furman
F Will Bagrou, Mercer
F Damieon Thomas, UNCG
MF Serge Gomis, ETSU
MF Leeroy Maguraushe, UNCG
MF Jordan Duru, Mercer
D Chase Clack, ETSU
D Kyle McLagan, Furman
D Ian Antley, Mercer
D Conner Antley, Mercer
GK Jonny Sutherland, ETSU

Second Team
F Joao Ramalho, ETSU
F Lucas Altman, Wofford
F Matthew Aurednik, Wofford
MF Charlie Machell, ETSU
MF Marco Ortiz, Furman
MF Connor Donohue, Wofford
D Joe Pickering, ETSU
D Eric Gunnarsson, UNCG
D Kyle Nelson, Wofford
GK Jeremy Booth, Mercer
GK Joe Wichmann, Wofford

All-Freshman Team
Javier Alberto, ETSU
Joe Pickering, ETSU
Emery May, Furman
Roberto Arteaga, Mercer
Jacob Chadwell, Mercer
Casey Penland, UNCG
Lucas Altman, Wofford
Dredon Kelly, Wofford
Sam Ross, Wofford
Austin Tuggle, Wofford
Christian Womeldorph, Wofford

ETSU will continue its season with a trip to the SoCon Semifinals, which is being held in Greensboro, N.C. The match is set for 3:30 p.m. against UNCG on Thursday, Nov. 10.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s