Vols Daniel Named Candidate For Ray Guy Award

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Tennessee redshirt junior punter Trevor Daniel has been named to the list of 66 candidates for the 2016 Ray Guy Award, as announced by the Augusta Sports Council on Monday.
The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards every year in December. Candidates on our 2016 list were nominated for the award by their school’s sports information departments.
The list of 66 candidates will be narrowed down to 10 semifinalists to be announced on Friday, Nov. 11. Following the announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the three finalists who will be identified on Tuesday, Nov. 22. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner. The 2016 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec 8.
Daniel’s 45.1-yard career punting average ranks fourth among all active FBS punters. He ranks 18th in the nation with a 44.4-yard punting average in 2016 and his 2,265 punting yards rank third. Daniel has punted 51 times this season with 20 punts inside the 20-yard line, 10 inside the 10-yard line, five touchbacks and 15 punts of 50 or more yards. Daniel had a career-long punt of 70 yards against South Carolina on Saturday.
2016 Ray Guy Award Candidates:
• JK Scott, Alabama
• Matt Haack, Arizona State
• Toby Baker, Arkansas
• Drew Galitz, Baylor
• Sean Wale, Boise State
• Joseph Davidson, Bowling Green
• Jonny Linehan, Brigham Young
• Kyle DeWeen, Buffalo
• Dylan Klumph, California
• Hayden Hunt, Colorado State
• Worth Gregory, East Carolina
• Austin Barnes, Eastern Michigan
• Stone Wilson, FIU
• Johnny Townsend, Florida
• Dalton Schomp, Florida Atlantic
• Rigoberto Sanchez, Hawaii
• Austin Rehkow, Idaho
• Colin Downing, Iowa State
• Cole Moos, Kansas
• Derek Adams, Kent State
• Grant McKinniss, Kentucky
• Steven Coutts, Louisiana-Lafayette
• Wade Lees, Maryland
• Logan Laurent, Massachusetts
• Spencer Smith, Memphis
• Paul Justin Vogel, Miami
• Kenny Allen, Michigan
• Matt Bonadies, Middle Tennessee
• Ryan Santoso, Minnesota
• Logan Cooke, Mississippi State
• Corey Fatony, Missouri
• Alex Barta, Navy
• Alfred James Cole, III, NC State
• Tom Sheldon, North Carolina
• Eric Keena, North Texas
• Hunter Niswander, Northwestern
• Cameron Johnston, Ohio State
• Austin Seibert, Oklahoma
• Zach Sinor, Oklahoma State
• Bailey Cate, Old Dominion
• Nick Porebski, Oregon State
• Blake Gillikin, Penn State
• Ryan Henry Winslow, Pittsburgh
• Jack Fox, Rice
• Tanner Blain, San Diego State
• Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State
• Sean Kelly, South Carolina
• Jonathan Hernandez, South Florida
• Jake Bailey, Stanford
• Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse
• Adam Nunez, TCU
• Alex Starzyk, Temple
• Trevor Daniel, Tennessee
• Michael Dickson, Texas
• Shane Tripucka, Texas A&M
• Lumi Kaba, Texas State
• Justin Wain, Connecticut
• Caleb Houston, UCF
• Chris Tilbey, USC
• Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah
• Aaron Dalton, Utah State
• Alex Luna, UTEP
• Nicholas Conte, Virginia
• Billy Kinney, West Virginia
• Jake Collins, WKU
• Ethan Wood, Wyoming


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s