Vols Dobbs Appears Among Golden Arm Award Top 15

Oct. 13, 2016
BALTIMORE, Md. — Tennessee’s Joshua Dobbs is one of 15 college quarterbacks still in contention for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award after the annual award trimmed its list of candidates from its Initial Top 43 Watch List on Thursday.
The Golden Arm Award is presented at the end of each season since 1987 to the nation’s top college quarterback, based on his accomplishments both on and off the field. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class. These strong leaders have demonstrated a commitment to excellence and worked hard for themselves and their teams during the season and beyond.
Through six games this season, Dobbs has passed for 1,433 yards and 14 touchdowns while rushing for 324 yards and and five additional scores. The senior leads the SEC in touchdowns accounted for with 20 (he caught his second career touchdown pass at No. 8 Texas A&M earlier this season).
He had a career day passing the ball last week at Texas A&M as he threw for 398 yards and a touchdown in College Station. Dobbs also added 57 yards on the ground and a four-yard touchdown reception, running his total offense on the day to 459 yards. It was the third game of his career in which he had accounted for more than 400 yards of total offense.
The Alpharetta, Georgia, currently ranks fourth in Tennessee history with 7,340 total yards (passing, rushing, receiving).
Joining Dobbs among the list of 15 remaining candidates for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award are:
• J.T. Barrett – Ohio State
• Luke Falk – Washington State
• Chad Kelly – Ole Miss
• Trevor Knight – Texas A&M
• Patrick Mahomet – Texas Tech
• Baker Mayfield – Oklahoma
• Mason Rudolph – Oklahoma State
• Cooper Rush – Central Michigan
• Seth Russell – Baylor
• Zach Terrell – Western Michigan
• Mitch Trubisky – North Carolina
• Greg Ward, Jr. – Houston
• Deshaun Watson – Clemson
• Davis Webb – California
Tennessee boasts just one winner of the Golden Arm Award in its history as Peyton Manning claimed the honor in 1997.
In 2016, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award will be presented at a ceremony on Friday, December 9, in Baltimore, MD. For the 2016 Golden Arm Award ceremony, The Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Educational Foundation, Inc. is returning to The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor & Grand Historic Venue


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s