Pioneers Torres and Watts named to NCBWA All-Region baseball team

 Tusculum College pitchers Placido Torres and Devan Watts have been selected to the 2015 National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region team announced officials on Tuesday.

Torres was named to the NCBWA All-Region second team as a starting pitcher, while Watts garnered honorable mention distinction as a reliever.

Torres, a 5-11, 160-pound junior from North Brunswick, New Jersey, emerged as the ace of TC’s weekend rotation. The North Brunswick Township High School graduate finished with a 9-3 record with a 2.43 ERA which is the second-lowest in the South Atlantic Conference. He posted a perfect 4-0 record in his last four appearances, including a win in TC’s SAC Tournament opener against Lincoln Memorial University. His ERA is the seventh lowest in school history, while his nine victories are tied for seventh in the TC record book.

The 2015 All-SAC first team starting pitcher established a program single-season record 110 strikeouts, which are third in the league and fifth-most in the nation. Of his nine victories, two came against No. 11 Catawba and No. 13 Armstrong. He has made 17 appearances on the hill, including 13 starts where he has recorded 85 1/3 innings of work with 25 walks against his 110 strikeouts (4.40 strikeout/walk ratio). He pitched a two-hit shutout against Anderson and combined on a 4-0 shutout in the conference opener against Mars Hill.

Watts, a 6-0, 185-pound sophomore from Mooresville, North Carolina, currently leads the league with his eight saves (29th in NCAA II). He finished his inaugural TC campaign with a 1.79 ERA and leads the Pioneers with his 23 relief appearances where he has a 4-3 record in his 50 1/3 innings on the mound. The Mooresville High School graduate did not allow an earned run in his first 25 innings, covering a span of almost 10 games. Earlier this year, he pitched 8 2/3 shutout innings of relief in Tusculum’s 13-inning win over Carson-Newman. For his efforts, he has been named the SAC Pitcher of the Week and Tennessee Sports Writers Association College Pitcher of the Week. Last month, he was also listed as a national semifinalist for the Tino Martinez Award, which recognizes the NCAA Division II national player of the year at the end of the season.

The Pioneers (33-19) recorded their 15th consecutive winning season and the 13th in a row with 30 more wins. Tusculum’s 33 wins are tied for the eighth most in program history. TC also wrapped up a successful home campaign, going 25-4 in the friendly confines of Pioneer Park. The 25 home wins are the third-most in TC history, while the .862 home winning percentage is the second highest in a season.


2015 NCBWA/NCAA II All-Southeast Region Baseball Team
Region Player of the Year
: Will Albertson, Catawba
Region Pitcher of the Year: Craig Brooks, Catawba
Region Coach of the Year: Tom Cantrell, North Georgia

SP: Craig Brooks, Catawba
SP: Mike O’Reilly, Flagler
SP: Gunnar Kines, Mount Olive
RP: Adam Boghosian, North Greenville
C: Will Albertson, Catawba
1B: Albert Baur, Newberry
2B: Shane Billings, Wingate
3B: Collins Cuthrell, UNC Pembroke
SS: Brandon Overstreet, Erskine
OF: Jason Morozowski, Mount Olive
OF: Thomas Spitz, Wingate
OF: Clint Hardy, Georgia Regents
DH: Mike McLellan, Columbus State
UTL: Matt Rubino, Francis Marion

SP: Placido Torres, Tusculum
SP: Wesley Camp, Newberry
SP: Pete Nagel, Armstrong State
RP: Tyler Graham, Armstrong State
C: Anthony Dimino, Belmont Abbey
1B: Joe Koehler, Mount Olive
2B: Andrew Brodbeck, Flagler
3B: Justin Manning, Mount Olive
SS: Zade Denton, UNC Pembroke
OF: Jake Sandlin, Georgia College
OF: Brendan Collins, Columbus State
OF: Blake Houston, Catawba
DH: Drew Taylor, Georgia Regents
UTL: Allen Staton, North Greenville

SP: Danny Brown, Flagler; Matt Kelley, Francis Marion; Vince Apicella, Carson-Newman; Luke Crumley, Erskine; Derek Justice, Mount Olive; Jacob Beauchamp, North Georgia; Andy Sullivan, UNC Pembroke; Shafer Shepard, Catawba. RP: Devan Watts, Tusculum. Catcher: Sam Tidaback, North Georgia; Chad Whitehead, UNC Pembroke. 1B: Steven Knudson, Montevallo; Zach Smith, Erskine. 2B: Dylan Cook, Georgia College; Zak Orrison, Mount Olive. 3B: Nick Nunziato, Belmont Abbey; Nick Morabito, Lincoln Memorial. SS: Ryan Perkins, Lenoir-Rhyne; Jose Sola, King. OF: Izzy Perez, Pfeiffer; Matthew Haskins, Montevallo; Rayshelon Carolina, Mars Hill; Drew Cole, UNC Pembroke; Brandan Sheridan, Newberry; J.D. Crowe, Francis Marion; Ben Schmucker, UNC Pembroke; Kilgore Gailmard, Mount Olive; Nick Kranick, Flagler; Logan Galliher, Erskine. DH: T.J. Wharton, Catawba; Bradley Brown, Wingate. UTL: Rob Shipman, Mount Olive.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s