ETSU men’s golf headed back out west for NCAA Regional

 For the second straight year, the ETSU men’s golf team will be heading out west for the NCAA Regional as the 39th-ranked Buccaneers are the No. 7 seed in the San Diego Regional, which will be played at The Farms Golf Club from May 14-16.

ETSU, who will be making its 24th NCAA Regional appearance and the 20th under head coach Fred Warren, earned the automatic bid after winning the Southern Conference Championship in a playoff over UNC Greensboro on April 21 at Pinehurst No. 9.

“This is a very tough regional, but we are glad to still be playing,” said head coach Fred Warren. “We are looking forward to going out there and they guys are excited to be playing in the San Diego Regional.”

A total of 81 teams make up the six regional sites, with the top five teams from each regional advancing to the NCAA Championship. The top individual player not to be a member of one of the top five teams will also earn a spot in the championship. The teams will be play 54 holes over a three-day span at each regional site.

The NCAA Championship will be played May 29-June 3 at Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla. Golf Channel will air live coverage of the final three days of the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships, June 1-3. ETSU is looking to advance to its first NCAA Championship since 2008.

Last season, the Bucs received an at-large berth to the NCAA Regional and were sent to Oregon for the Eugene Regional where Rhys Pugh (Pontypridd, Wales), Adrian Meronk (Wroclaw, Poland), Chris Hickman (Centreville, Md.), Gudmundur Kristjansson (Reykjavik, Iceland) and Mateusz Gradecki (Oborniki Slaskie, Poland) made their first NCAA Regional appearance and the Blue and Gold tied for eighth at the Eugene Country Club.

The NCAA Regionals were announced Monday morning during Golf Channel’s Morning Drive.

Live scoring for the NCAA Regionals will be available on, and will provide complete coverage following each day’s action.

Host: University of San Diego – The Farms Golf Club

() indicates Golfweek/Sagarin or Golfstat Ranking

1   Arizona State (3)

2   Georgia Tech – ACC Conference Champion (10)

3   Oklahoma (14)

4   New Mexico (22)

5   Virginia (25)

6   Georgia (29)

7   ETSU – Southern Conference Champion (39)

8   Mississippi (47)

9   San Diego (55)

10 Idaho – Big Sky Conference Champion (57)

11 St. Mary’s, California (65)

12. Wichita State – Missouri Valley Conference Champion (87) 13. Eastern Kentucky – Ohio Valley Conference Champion (150)


1. Cody Blick, San Jose State

2. Petter Mikalsen, University of Denver 3. George Cunningham, Arizona 4. Antoine Rozner, University of Missouri-Kansas City 5. Chad Merzbacher, Tennessee 6. David Kocher, Maryland 7. Matt Green, Kansas State 8. Conner Campbell, Loyola Marymount 9. Hayden Shieh, Santa Clara 10. Justin De Los Stanos, Cal Poly


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s